saddle bags

Discussion in 'Vetter Luggage' started by steppenwolf, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. steppenwolf
    Offline

    steppenwolf Vetter Master

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    Seems to me the Bagman soft saddle bags were Vetters........
    [​IMG]
     
  2. steppenwolf
    Offline

    steppenwolf Vetter Master

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    Hunted and rooted thru the garage and found my old soft saddle bags.....
    [​IMG]
     
  3. AVetterXS
    Offline

    AVetterXS Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    451
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bear Valley Springs, CA
    Those look like they have some miles on them!

    Here are the mounting instructions incase you want to put them back on! ;) :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Rear View (2).jpg
    You can mount saddlebags to most any bike with a little ingenuity.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. steppenwolf
    Offline

    steppenwolf Vetter Master

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    Looking good...did you relocate your turn signals? I put mine back on the plate holder also.
     
  6. AVetterXS
    Offline

    AVetterXS Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    451
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bear Valley Springs, CA
    I have not hooked up my truck electrical yet. I have a question for you. Are the lights on the truck additional break lights? Turn signals? or both?
     
  7. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Step, That's the way the turn signals are originally mounted. They just happen to be in the perfect spot.
     
  8. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8 Terraplane Tom, Dec 14, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  9. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]
    On this trunk it was missing the original plug, so I want to Radio Shack and bought a 4 wire plug. I am wiring this trunk so that turn signals can be used, with brake and clearance lights.
     
  10. Ed Fleming
    Offline

    Ed Fleming Grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When you say "clearance lights", do you mean the non-brake mode for the 4 rear lights, since each bulb is a two-filament? The picture looks like the inner 2 lenses are amber lenses and the outer 2 are red. Is that correct, or am I seeing things that aren't there :) I need to wire my trunk also, since the original harness is gone. I wish I had a look at an original harness to go by when making a new one. If that 4 wire plug you bought is the right size and everything to fit the rectangular hole in the trunk, maybe I'll do the same. What is the RadioShack number for it (if you have it)? Thanks!
     
    #10 Ed Fleming, Dec 18, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  11. Ed Fleming
    Offline

    Ed Fleming Grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Trunksocket.jpg
    Here's a pic of an original plug socket for a vetter trunk.
     
  12. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes, each light has a brake and clearance wire to each bulb. And a ground wire.
    Does the trunk still have the 3 wire plug on the trunk side? If so, you can use the plug from a turn signal and wire it.
    If I remember right, the 3 wire plugs from a turn signal also fits in the current hole.
    If you use the 4 wire plug, you need to open the plug area a bit. The new plug is slightly larger.
    I will send pictures when I get a chance.
     
  13. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    P1000566.JPG
    Yes, you can add to that plug with a piece from and extra signal.
     
    #13 Terraplane Tom, Dec 18, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2013
  14. Ed Fleming
    Offline

    Ed Fleming Grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. The picture of the socket is one I found online somewhere. I only have the serial number plate with a hole where the socket was in my trunk, so I am starting from there. The wires from the lights are laying loose inside...
     
  15. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I switched out the red center lenses for amber. I am building a police bike and I am going to use the ambers for alternating lights.
     
  16. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Glad to help!
     
  17. roncar
    Offline

    roncar Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Lakeland, Florida
    I rewired my trunk 5 or so years ago and added a few things. The center 2 are wired as running and brake lights and the outer are wired like the front OEM turn signals, turn and switched running lights (76 GL1000.) To do this I needed many more wires going into the trunk. My solution was a wiring harness from a scrapped Vetter fairing. Wired as followed:

    FUNCTION HARNESS BIKE

    left turn orange orange
    left running yellow orange/white
    ground black green
    brake brown brown/green
    running green green/yellow
    right turn blue light blue
    right running violet light blue/white
    aux red not connected
    aux white not connected

    Was a lot more work than I anticipated (had been putting it off for about 9 months) but I am pleased with the result.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Terraplane Tom
    Offline

    Terraplane Tom Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minnesota
    P1000561.JPG
    Ed, as you can see someone before me hacked up the plug area pretty bad. But here is what I was able to do with the 4 wire plug. Item#274-234 P1000561.JPG P1000570 (2).JPG
    And here is the plug end. Item#274-224
     
    #18 Terraplane Tom, Dec 19, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2013
    • Creative Creative x 1
  19. Metal_Bob
    Offline

    Metal_Bob Learning the Ropes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If I remember reading correctly "The Bagman" brand was owned/ran/made by Craig Vetter's brother originally. So technically the soft saddle and tank bags were VETTER items :) - As well as the Early HippoHands
     
  20. Scott-E
    Offline

    Scott-E Vetter Aficionado

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Weaver, AL
    A 6 pin Molex connector can be installed in the data plate. Remove the data plate by carefully drilling out the rivets with a 1/8" drill. Enlarge the hole in the data plate so the new 6 pin Molex connector fits. Now you can wire it up for separate brake and turn signals as well as having 4 tail lights.
    You'll notice I only used 4 of the 6 positions. I have a 3 to 2 trailer light converter so I only needed 4 wires. If I ever sold my trunk the new owner could add those 2 wires and not need the converter.

    These Molex connectors are available from Mouser.com

    The Molex plug that installs in the Data plate is Mouser part number 538-03-09-1064
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Molex/03-09-1064/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuzXLcWrSfMr4AImWoNFp%2b43p17M8Rvg8Q=

    The matching Molex plug that connects to the bikes wiring harness is Mouser part number 538-03-09-2061
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Molex/03-09-2061/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuzXLcWrSfMr5VY9UBSNJarM9pVpyO2hRM=

    You'll also need pins that connects to the 2 wiring harnesses you'll make.
    These female pins go into the Molex connector that mounts in the data plate and connects to the light sockets.
    Mouser part number 538-02-09-1104
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...EpiMZZMuzXLcWrSfMr4AImWoNFp%2b4ZZ7WOB%2bAqWQ=

    These male pins go into the Molex connector that is connected to the wires that connect to the Bikes wiring harness.
    Mouser part number 538-02-09-6106
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Molex/02-09-6106/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuzXLcWrSfMr7loHmT8G06hTfE3NAFkUxs=

    Buy extra pins! None of us are perfect so you might screw up a pin or two when crimping the pins to the wires. This also allows changing out pins and wires that may corrode over time. Beer, Soda, and other spilled liquids in the trunk will cause them to corrode and cause you lighting headaches.


    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page